Media Elements



OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT


Pupils begin work on this in Year 9 and continue until the end of Year 11.


OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT comprises the following qualifications:


OCR Level 2 National Short Course Award in ICT (equivalent to ½ GCSE)

OCR Level 2 National First Award in ICT (equivalent to 1 GCSE)

OCR Level 2 National Award in ICT (equivalent to 2 GCSE’s)

OCR Level 2 National First Certificate in ICT equivalent to 3 GCSE’s)

OCR Level 2 National Certificate in ICT (equivalent to 4 GCSE’s)




The OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT have been developed to provide candidates with an introduction to the skills, knowledge and understanding required to prepare for work in the information and communitcation technology sector. They have also been designed to help candidates develop their personal skills in the areas of team working, career planning, communication and problem solving. They accredit candidates’ abilities to carry out a range of tasks and have been designed to accredit candidates’ achievements in a modern, practical way that is relevant to the workplace.


The OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT are qualifications that have been accredited by QCA to the National Qualifications Framework.


Unit Content


Mandatory unit – Unit 1 ICT Skills for Business


Optional Units


There is a wide range of these although a choice will be made from the following list:


Web page creation

Desktop Publishing

Spreadsheets – design and use

Databases – design and use

Career planning for IT

Work experience in IT



There is also a choice of shorter units of which pupils will take at least one:


Creating animation for the WWW using ICT

Creating computer graphics

Creating sound using ICT

Creating video


Form of Assessment

All units are centre assessed and externally moderated. All units are graded pass, merit or distinction which equate to grade C, B and A respectively.


Progression into employment

These qualifications are designed to enable candidates to enter employment at operative or trainee level within a wide range of business environments. Such candidates would usually enter employment through a work-related training programme.

Progression to further qualifications

These qualifications have been designed to aid progression to GCE ICT or GCE Computing. They will also provide a basis for progression to other qualifications at Level 3 of the National Qualifications Framework.


OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT are different as there are five qualifications.

OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT

OCR Level 2 Nationals in ICT

Minimum number of units required

Number of mandatory units

Guided Learning Hours

Qualifications of the same size and level

National Short Course Award




½ GCSE (A* - C)

National First Award




1 GCSE (A* - C)

National Award




2 GCSEs (A* - C)

National First Certificate




3 GCSEs (A* - C)

National Certificate




4 GCSEs (A* - C)


Mrs E Machin BA (Hons)